My Year in Poland Comes to a Close

June 23, 2010

So, my Fulbright is officially over.

This year has been incredible– it was hard at times, but I have seen and have learned so much just in this one year. And most importantly– not to sound cheesy– I  learned a lot about myself. I have most definitely become more independent. And although I missed my family very much, I was able to spend time with my family here, in Poland. Visiting them for a few weeks over the summer every couple of years was quite different than popping by for the weekend a few times a month! For this opportunity, I am especially grateful. I always wanted to have a big family–I just didn’t realize I already had one… they were just so far away.

In terms of my project, it may not have turned out exactly as I had imagined, but what I accomplished in its stead was just as great, I think. There were even a few unexpected surprises along the way. My work was part of 4 exhibitions– one in Warsaw, two in Łódź, one in Berlin. I met many accomplished artists (and was personally instructed by two of them), I met with the foremost art historian when it comes to contemporary textile art (Prof. Irena Huml), and was witness to new and exciting work as part of national and international exhibitions. I made friends, who I will be sad to leave. I will miss this city, too, which I have grown to love, despite first impressions. I will always have fond memories of this year: of the places I’ve been, the things I’ve seen, the people I’ve known. I count myself very fortunate for this chance and I hope to carry on with the same spirit of adventure in the future.

2009-2010 U.S. Fulbright Grantees

U.S. Ambassador to Poland, Lee Feinstein

P.S. This doesn’t mean that I’ll stop posting on my blog… I’ll still be in Poland for the summer– minus a week’s vacation in Italy and a two week stint back to the USA for another student visa– this time to Italy for a Master’s program in Interdisciplinary Research and Study on Eastern Europe (MIREES) at the University of Bologna, at Forli… I smell a change in blog title…

One Response to “My Year in Poland Comes to a Close”

  1. Melissa Gardon Says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience in Poland. What an exciting adventure to have had in your life! When will you be back in the states for your student visa?


Leave a Reply

