My First European Art Exhibition!

December 15, 2009

So, the Carpet and Gobelin Studio of the Academy of Fine Arts in Łódź is having an exhibition of work in Warsaw, at the Skwer gallery. The opening reception is happening on January 5th, and the exhibition runs until the 17th.

I will have two pieces in the show: an industrially tufted rug (inspired by traditional Polish folk art–a continuation of my degree project at RISD), and a fine arts installation (an experiment in unconventional materials-metal)– a fragment of the work is pictured above.

I’m very excited about this!! Check out the gallery’s website. It’s really well done: fabryka.waw.pl

2 Responses to “My First European Art Exhibition!”

  1. Jeremi Says:

    Hej Monica!

    Congrats on your group exhibition! Wish I had such an opportunity when at ASP Warszawa, but then, I didn’t have much to show at around that time (casting schedules and a lack of momentum in the beginning of the year).

    I was waiting for a giant file to download so I read all your entries until now and I have to say that I’m quite impressed in what you’ve seen so far. Had no idea about the Kosciusko Mound. Well, I can always learn something new about a country the size of New Mexico. The Gobelin Loom looks to be quite involving; I suspect a lot of patience is required?

    Wszystkiego Najlepszego w Nowem Roku!


    • Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed my blog! I’m really far behind on it though… I still need to add in a lot of stuff– like from Lublin, Poznań, Gniezno, etc etc. But yeah, I’ve seen so much so far! It’s nice having family here… they have cars and take me places =)
      The work in the show is a little unrelated to my project, but it kept me busy so far. And patience is definitely necessary for gobelin weaving.
      All the best!


Leave a Reply

