Łódź: European Capital of Culture?

December 7, 2009

Łódź is a candidate for the European Capital of Culture 2016!! They’re constantly renovating old buildings, organizing artistic and cultural festivals and gatherings, and planning new developments in infrastructure. There’s still a lot of work to be done, but I think they’ve got a chance! Can you tell I’m starting to like this city?

www.lodz2016.pl

One Response to “Łódź: European Capital of Culture?”

  1. John W Says:

    Falling in love with Lodz is very easy to do. I lived there for five years, from 1997 to 2002. It is my adopted home town. When I arrived there in 1997, things were still pretty rough. But, I saw the city be reborn while I was there. I was prompted to write at the time that loving Lodz was like loving a three legged, one eyed puppy. I should have said that it was like loving an ugly duckling because the swan is growing up day by day. I truly miss my ugly duckling city and every day I wish that I could just drop overything and go back. Maybe someday …


Leave a Reply

